{Lets Get Crafty} 52 Reasons Why I Love You

Originally, this idea was spawned from Pinterest. 

(If you haven’t yet joined Pinterest or need an invitation – just comment with your email below and I will be more than happy to introduce you to your latest addiction!)

Once I saw the photograph, I knew that this was something that I HAD to make for the hubby for Valentine’s Day. 

Normally we don’t do much for Valentines.  I can’t even remember one time over the last ten years where we went to dinner or did anything other than exchange a card and some chocolates at the most.  It’s not that I don’t like the holiday – we just never really think to do anything.  This year is different though…and its all because of Pinterest.  🙂

So I went moseying into the shop looking for a deck of cards (red, of course) and dug through my scrapbook papers in the studio to find some that were red, or at least something close to it.

The rest is history.

Oh, and before I forget – I will admit that though I love my Hubby dearly…it took me a helluva long time to pick out 52 things that I love him for!  That sounds bad, but once you get past the basic things…you really got to start turning those cogs in your noggin.  So start this project early people!  Lol…

52 REASONS WHY I LOVE YOU CARD DECK

Deck of cards (red)
2 Split Rings (like what your keychains are) OR Red Ribbon
Various Scrapbook Papers (approx. 6-8 12×12 sheets)
Paper Cutter (or scissors if you are brave…very brave)
Hole Punch
Glue Sticks
Various Stickers and Embellishments

The goods!

Take your hole punch and punch holes in two corners of the playing card.  I just eyed it.  You can take the time to measure if you want, but in the end, I couldn’t tell a difference.  🙂

Next, you will want to cut out all your scrapbook papers into two different sizes.  These are the dimensions that I used:

Larger: 1-7/8″ x 3-1/8″
Smaller: 1-3/4″ x 3″

This whole process is quite a pain really. It is unbelievably quick if you have a paper cutter though!  If not…well…

Good luck to you!  A bottle of wine may be a must…

Next, I went ahead and stacked all my cut papers so that I could grab them two by two for the next step.

Now, take your glue stick and glue the smaller piece of paper to the larger piece.

After you have done that for each of your papers, glue the larger paper to the playing card.  Repeat another 51 times. 

I thought this would never end…LOL!

Okay people, we’re almost there!  Now put all your cards together using split rings or ribbon.  Ribbon would be much easier, but I have young kids.  They see ribbon and they want to pull it. 

I can just imagine 52 cards that I spent all this time on being splayed across my entire house. Lovely.

Now comes the fun part!

Sit down with a notebook and think of your 52 things you love about this person. 

Grab a bottle of wine (if you didn’t already open one) and attempt to get past #17.

Once I finally made my list, I sat down with a sharpie and some heart stickers I had laying around.  You can do the minimal (like I did, LOL!) or you can go all out using gliter glue, pretty pens, photos, magazine clippings, etc…

If any of you make this project, I would absolutely LOVE for you to send me some pictures of the finished product!  foodandfibers@gmail.com

Tags: , , , , ,

Categories: Lets Get Crafty

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

2 Comments on “{Lets Get Crafty} 52 Reasons Why I Love You”

  1. Laurel Spurlin
    February 2, 2012 at 12:10 pm #

    what a clever idea, so very cute!! and I would love an invite to Pinterest, I have been put on a waiting list when I tried,

  2. Teal Askin
    February 2, 2012 at 3:16 pm #

    Would you send me an invite for pinterest please 🙂

What do you think? Leave a Comment!

