{Recipe Share} Not Your Mamma’s Asparagus

Growing up, I never ate asparagus.  I don’t know if it was because my Mom had a feeling that my brother and I wouldn’t touch it with a ten foot pole, or if maybe she didn’t like it.  Either way, I didn’t have my first experience with it until a few years ago.

Now, I am addicted.

There is nothing better in this world than walking along a ditch at the beginning of Summer and picking fresh asparagus.  Then you bring it home and what do most people to?

They steam it.

Yuck and YUCK!

Just a few months ago I was over at Grandma and Grandpa’s for dinner and Grandma made some asparagus to go with our fried chicken and potatoes.  She steamed it.

Oh Grandma…how I love you.  I, on the other hand, do not like your asparagus.

It is slimy and without any texture at all when you steam it.  I can understand why most people avoid asparagus like the plague after having it prepared in such a way.

So for those of you that are ready to take your culinary advances into new territory – try my pan seared asparagus.  It is absolutely divine!  And trust me, I say that with complete confidence that even the most avid vegetable haters will adorn their plates with a pile of this every time you make it.

It is that good.  Get ready to turn some heads people!

PAN SEARED ASPARAGUS

One bunch asparagus
Four tbsp. butter
Sea Salt
1/2 c. shredded cheddar cheese (optional)

Gorgeous.  Absolutely gorgeous.

Wash your asparagus spears in cool water.

Now cut the bottom 1/4 – 1/3 off of the spears.  (You are more than welcome to keep them on, but you won’t be happy about the end result)

I cut them at an angle.  I think they look prettier!

Mmmm…sea salt!  Why is mine orangish-red?  My mom brought me some of this beautiful sea salt the last time she went to Hawaii!  I use it any chance I get.  It is fabulous. 

Take your butter and add it to the pan.  Turn it to high heat.  (Max)

You want your butter to completely coat the pan, but not to be completely melted.

While your butter is simmering to perfection and with the temperature still set to high, add your asparagus to the pan.

Let them simmer there until you are afraid they are getting burned.  Approx. four minutes.  See in the photo above how the spears are beginning to crisp?  THAT is what you want to see.

Now, make sure to turn and evenly distribute the asparagus around the pan so that all the spears have the chance to sear in the butter.  The key to this process is using a pair of tongs.  Don’t try a large fork or a spoon of any kind.  It. Does. Not. Work.

See!  They’re getting even prettier!

When you serve your asparagus, you do not, I repeat DO NOT, want it to be floppy.  You want it to be cooked through but not without form.  At this point in time, your asparagus has been cooking for anywhere between 8-12 minutes.  Now, grab a pinch of sea salt and distribute over the asparagus spears.

Move the spears around so that the sea salt has a chance to disintegrate over the spears and into the butter.  When you don’t see any grains of salt anymore (about 2 minutes) remove them from the heat and serve onto the plate of a hungry family member!

OPTIONAL

Something the hubby loves is for me to put shredded cheddar on the asparagus when its finished cooking and allow it to melt over all the spears.  I don’t care for the cheese on my asparagus, but what I do LOVE is the cheese that falls of the spears and fries to a crisp in the buttery pan.

O.M.G.

 

 

Tags: ,

Categories: Dinner Sides, Recipe Share

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

2 Comments on “{Recipe Share} Not Your Mamma’s Asparagus”

  1. Sarah
    February 2, 2012 at 10:59 am #

    This looks great! I will have to try it 🙂

  2. susan brown
    February 2, 2012 at 12:17 pm #

    Looks delicious. If you break the ends off the first one and cut the rest at about the same spot (or break them all) you will find you remove the fibrous/ tough part. I found the oven is a great way to cook them. since I’m watching my cholesterol, I use olive oil. Drizzle it on a sheet pan and roll them around in it. I use lemon pepper to give it great flavor since cheese is not an option for me.
    Keep the recipes coming, the suggestions are helpful!

What do you think? Leave a Comment!

