{Recipe Share} Mexican Pizza Appetizer

I can’t believe that it has already been well over a month and I still haven’t posted this recipe!  I made it for a little get-together I had in January, and here it is, already the first of March.

Anyways, I of course found this recipe via Pinterest and the original link to the recipe can be found HERE.  I did a few things a little differently, (kind of like I always do!) but the end result was very enjoyable!  It makes A LOT of little mini pizzas by the way, more than my group of ladies needed.  Still though, I just stuck them in the fridge and ended up munching on them the next day for lunch.  Mmmmmm!

{Mexican Pizza Appetizer}

2 Cans Refrigerated Crescent Rolls
2 – 8oz. Packages Cream Cheese (softened)
Packet of Taco Seasoning
2 c. Shredded Mexican Blend Cheese
1 Can Black Beans
1 Can Sweet Corn
1 Small Can Sliced Black Olives
2 Roma Tomatoes
1 Avacado

 
The goods.

First, spray your baking sheet with non-stick spray of some kind and unroll your crescent dough onto the sheet;  pressing all seams and corners together. Follow the directions on the package for cooking times. 

Once it comes out of the oven, it will look something like this.

Chop up your tomatoes.

Ahhhh, now in a medium bowl, take your softened cream cheese and mix it with the taco seasoning. 
As you can see, my attempt above was completely futile.  Obviously, mine wasn’t softened enough and it ended up being a massive lumpy mess.  I then resorted to…

THE KITCHEN AID MIXER.
She has saved me many many times over the years.

Ahhhhh, much better!

While my cream cheese and taco seasoning were mixing, I chopped up my avacado. 
NOTE: You can wait to chop your avacado until you are ready to serve the appetizer.  Or, you can do like I did: Chop it up and sprinkle with a bit of lime juice.  It keeps it from oxidizing and turning brown in the fridge. 🙂
Just a little tidbit for ya…

Once your cream cheese and taco seasoning is mixed nicely, evenly spread it over your baked cresent rolls with a spatula.

Next, wash your black beans.  I found it was way easier to just mix everything in my strainer instead of busting out yet another bowl I would have to wash.  So I added my corn, mixed them together real well, then my black olives.

After that, add the tomatoes and mix real well again.

Now, spread the black bean, corn, olive, and tomato mixture onto the cream cheese.

Next, the cheese.  The CHEESE!

Here comes the most frustrating part of the whole process.  I don’t remember if I have mentioned this before, but if I haven’t, this is one of the most important things for you to know…

YOU NEED TO HAVE SHARP KNIVES.

Working with a dull knife in the kitchen is like a painter working with preschooler approved paint brushes.  Without a sharp knife, this next part will produce nothing but uneven squares and an absolute mess.

Lucky for me, I have a sharp knife! So, you are going to want to shimmy your knife down the length of the baking sheet and then come back and do the same in the opposite direction.

When you go to remove them from the pan, keep your knife handy just in case you missed any outside edges.  Using either a spatula or a fork, remove the individual squares from the baking sheet and set on your tray or platter you are using to serve them on.

A few moments before serving time, bring out your avacado and sprinkle over your squares!

Voila!  Just the right amount of crunch, brightness from the tomato and corn, and of course, who doesn’t like cream cheese AND cheese in the same bite?!  I will definately be making them again this Summer, only next time, I think I’ll add some sliced green onion in the mix as well.

Enjoy!

Tags: , ,

Categories: Appetizers, Recipe Share

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

No comments yet.

What do you think? Leave a Comment!